Home / World Politics / Middle east / US lifts refugee ban from 11 countries

US lifts refugee ban from 11 countries

Homeland Security Secrtary Nielsen says potential refugees will face much tougher scrutiny

U.S. Homeland Security Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen.

Washington: The United States announced Monday it was lifting its ban on refugees from 11 “high-risk” countries, but said those seeking to enter the US would come under much tougher scrutiny than in the past.

Applicants from 11 countries, unnamed but understood to include 10 Muslim-majority nations plus North Korea, will face tougher “risk-based” assessments to be accepted.

“It’s critically important that we know who is entering the United States,” said Homeland Security Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen.

“These additional security measures will make it harder for bad actors to exploit our refugee program, and they will ensure we take a more risk-based approach to protecting the homeland.”

Check Also

‘Guardian angel’ flies home second bedridden Indian worker from Dubai

Dubai: An Indian woman’s mission to repatriate bedridden compatriot workers in Dubai for long-term rehabilitation …

Blast hits Zimbabwe president’s rally, Mnangagwa not hurt

Injured people lie on the ground following a blast at a Zanu PF rally in …